This piece was originally written for Health Alliance’s Blog and features information about Health Alliance’s products and services. Visit that site for more on my healthy journey and many more health and insurance subjects.

Hi blogosphere!

My name is Allison Shields, and I started working for Health Alliance as the web copywriter in July. That means that I work on our social media, this blog, and our websites.

I turn 25 this month, and I’m probably pretty unhealthy. I worked at Starbucks before coming here, so I have a pretty good caffeine addiction. I don’t eat regular meals, and one of my favorite snacks is still candy. I love to cook, but I don’t do it nearly often enough. I regularly skip meals because of time constraints and to keep from putting on weight instead of changing my eating habits.

I was an athlete ten years ago, but college and adulthood have distracted me from making my health a priority. Before this job, I didn’t have the money for a gym membership, and I never work out.

I envy all the energy I had as a teenager. These days when I get home from work, all I want to do is curl up with a glass of wine in front of my TV or computer. I regularly feel exhausted by 8 p.m.

I used to love reading, crafting, and walking around Chicago during college. Now I feel like I don’t even make the time for little things I used to love. I worry that I’m wasting the years when developing healthy habits and a balanced lifestyle would be easiest.

Luckily for me, Health Alliance is a company that will help me make some changes in the way I live my life. Not only am I off my parents’ health insurance for the first time, but Health Alliance also has regular challenges for our employees, like the 19-Day Arm Challenge that I will be doing and recording here over the next month, so you can work out alongside me.

We also have a brand new tool for our members called Rally, which I’m going to start using here, with you. Rally is an online experience that helps you improve your health in small ways every day and rewards you along the way.

I’m not very far into Rally yet. So far I’ve only completed the first step, which is taking a simple test that tells you your Rally age based on your health.

It has a lot of easy questions, things like your weight and height, how many fruits and vegetables you eat each day, and some simple things about your prescriptions and healthcare use.

I was very happy to learn that my Rally age is 25, which I turn soon. While my bad habits haven’t created a huge deficit yet, I know these things will take a toll on me in the long run, so I’m still determined to start making changes.

After you’ve taken the health assessment, Rally creates recommendations for you for missions and communities. In the next few days, I will be picking out challenges to begin, and I will be back to walk you through some of the great ways you can start making little changes too!

Hurry and take the assessment and join me in my healthy journey today!

