Anna Karenina is one of my favorite books of all time. My freshman year of college, I took a Russian Literature class. It is famous at our school, one of the classes that they tell you everyone should take. Gary Saul Morson was the professor, and while I found our other selection Dostoevsky’s The Brothers Karamazov one of the best books I’ve ever read, his reading of Anna Karenina changed how the book was read.

Once, it was considered a tragic love story with the death of its heroine. Morson claims otherwise, that Anna is a selfish character that Tolstoy wrote against, and that in fact another, loving, responsible wife and mother is the heroine of the story, despite her minor role. His reading is now the commonly accepted interpretation. He changed the way I read literature, and made me pick up another beloved major. (Read a bio piece on him here.) Therefore, the trailer to this new movie makes me pretty excited:

