So, I love to cook. I know, I don’t talk about it very often anymore, but besides watching horror, it is probably my single favorite thing to do.

Recently, in only about 20 minutes from start to finish, I made the best thing my kitchen creations have ever yielded: a homemade margherita pizza.

I used a store bought crust purely because I wanted a whole wheat crust and I was unwilling to buy whole wheat flour. My grocery store sells dough though, so it was super easy. I rolled it out, brushed it with olive oil and a tiny bit of store bought crushed tomato sauce to moisten it and make sure it would crisp up in the oven. Then I scattered pieces of fresh basil over this. I tried to cut any large leaves into at least half. Then I sliced two roma tomatoes and put them on top of the basil. Then I cut up small balls of fresh mozzarella (the kind that comes in liquid,) and put them anywhere I could. Then I baked it for about 15 to 20 minutes in a 350 degree oven. Mine only took about 15, but my oven runs overly hot, so that is probably why.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The whole apartment smelled delicious like basil, the tomatoes roasted and leaked all into the crust, and the fresh mozzarella really made the whole thing. It is so creamy and indulgent, better than any pizza I’ve ever had, AND SO EASY! Try it, you will love it!

 

 

