This movie was highly recommended to me by a friend, and since it was streaming on Netflix, I went ahead and took the time to watch it on Thursday. First of all for those of you who have never seen it, here’s the trailer:

The cast features Adam Scott, of Parks and Recreation, Brittany Snow, who will always be that girl to me in Prom Night being chased by the jerk lead-singer from That Thing You Do, and J.K. Simmons who is always hilarious in my opinion. I’m going to try really hard not to spoil anything in the movie..

Essentially, the plot follows two brothers, one who is bringing his girlfriend home with him for Thanksgiving, and his older brother Caleb (who is an jerk,) giving them a ride, but not participating in Thanksgiving as he and his father don’t speak. Caleb hits on the girlfriend, we find out the story of his issues with his father, and overall they try to work out their crazy family problems. See, no real spoilers.

While I didn’t necessarily enjoy the plot, my favorite movies tend to be a little more perfect than this one, I did really love this movie. Will I buy it? No. But I definitely recommend you take the time to watch it at least once. Adam Scott’s performance is truly the best part of the movie. He has countless witty, cruel and hilarious lines that at many times bring to mind Californication‘s epic Hank Moody, and Scott delivers them as perfectly as Duchovny does. At the same time, he does a great job of being emotionally unhinged, crying at the drop of a hat, and on the whole proving to the audience that there is more to this character and his story than what meets the eye, from literally the first shot of the movie. If I’d ever doubted his acting abilities before, that has certainly been swept away, and I think he should definitely be making more movies than TV shows from this point forward.

Brittany Snow, while hard to take very seriously with her black bob, really does give a very good performance, bouncing back between scared little girl and powerful woman with a relatively convincing confusion as to who she is. Watching her sex scene in this movie is, however, physically painful to endure. My friend argues in favor of it feeling accurate, which may be true, but it is truly excruciating, I warn you now.

All in all, the movie offered a real depth of acting, extremely entertaining banter, and a plot that was very human, while not necessarily all that enthralling. But from a dark comedy, this is generally what one would expect. Still, worth the hour and a half you put in to it, if only for the darkly cruel remarks that will make you laugh and wish you had the guts to say half of what Caleb does.

