So, I’ve been living all over the country for the past few months, and have just finished moving into my new apartment in Chicago, which is BEAUTIFUL.

But for those of you who know me, my favorite thing in the world to do is cook and bake, and for the first time in my many homes, I have a kitchen full almost exclusively with my things. This means that cooking creations will be a much more common occurrence here. Lately, I have had a hankering for some really epic mac and cheese, even if it does still feel like spring out, even here.

I didn’t follow a recipe, I simple made a rue with a stick of butter and flour til I felt it was good. Then I added a container of cream and whisked til thick. I then poured it in a bowl to combine with most of a package of cheddar cheese and a package of 4 blend Italian cheeses (to be fair, I have enough sauce leftover for probably another half a box of pasta.)

Then I mixed with the  pound of rigatoni I’d already prepared, put it in a baking dish and topped with the remaining cheddar and breadcrumbs, then baked it til it was all golden and melty and bubbly. I meant to add my frozen peas into the mix before going in the oven, but totally forgot, so they were added to just my bowl. Soooo good. Next time I’m thinking peas and bacon?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

